ast loading screen spinner image

Teachers' Council

The Teachers’ Council (TC) was established in January 2011 and chaired by the Director-General of Education, Ms Liew Wei Li. Members of the Council come from a broad spectrum of the fraternity. so that they are better positioned to represent and reflect the perspectives and voices of the fraternity.


The roles of the Council include:

  • Championing the Ethos and the vision of the teaching profession.
  • Promoting quality professional learning that is aligned with the philosophy of Teacher Ownership, Teacher Leadership. This nurtures a pedagogically excellent teaching fraternity and fosters a pervasive culture of teacher-led professional excellence.
  • Advocating the growth of the Teaching Track.
  • Supporting the well-being of all teachers by leading the fraternity in identifying and adopting good practices. 

 Members of Teachers’ Council:

MOE HQ and NIE Representatives
1.  Ms Liew Wei Li Director-General of Education 
2.  A/P Liu Woon ChiaDean, Teacher Education  National Institute of Education
3.  Mrs Chua-Lim Yen Ching 

Deputy Director-General of Education
(Professional Development) 

4.  Mrs Poh Mun See Executive Director Academy of Singapore Teachers 
5. Ms Yin TongDivisional Director HR Solutions and Capabilities Division 
6.  Mr Cheng San Shian SherwinDirector Curriculum Policy Office

School representatives

1.  Mr Yuen Kah Mun Master Teacher Boon Lay Secondary School   
2.Mr Leung Yulun Head of Department Yuan Ching Secondary School 
3.Mr Ganison S/O Rajamohan Special Assistant Eunoia Junior College/
Posted to School Operations Policy Branch in 2023
4.Ms Ho Ai De Eunice Senior ManagerYishun Innova Junior College/
Posted to International Cooperation and Strategy Team in 2023
5.Ms Low Yi Lun Subject Head Christ Church Secondary School 
6. Mr Rahmat Tirmizi Bin Juma'at Senior Teacher Jurong West Secondary School 
7.Ms Joanne Lee Yuan Khee Teacher Edgefield Secondary School 
8.Ms Khor Ting Yan Teacher Zhenghua Primary School 
9.Ms Darlene John Johney Teacher Zhenghua Secondary School 
10. Ms Vinotheni d/o Vatatheeswaran Teacher Peiying Primary School